The Forest Guide: Scotland is the first book in a new series by author Gabriel Hemery. The series features the finest woodlands of Britain, from the largest forest to the smallest copse. Information and specially commissioned photographs will celebrate their beauty, purpose, history, current nature, and ownership. Descriptions will guide visitors in exploring at least 1000 forest sites across Britain. The series is published by Bloomsbury.

Trees for Life


A guide to exploring 365 of Scotland’s most scenic, wildlife-rich and historically significant woodlands.

From the precious fragments of Caledonian pine forest to lesser-known wildwoods and urban copses, Scottish woodlands offer places of sanctuary, both for wildlife and for people.

The Forest Guide: Scotland
The Forest Guide: Scotland

In this practical guide, Gabriel Hemery brings together the beauty, purpose, history, wildlife and ownership of some of the most extraordinary woodland sites in the country, from the largest (the Forest of Ae, which covers more than 10,000 hectares) to the smallest (Halligarth in the Shetland Islands, measuring less than a third of a hectare), and everything in-between. Some woods are notable for having the tallest or rarest trees, others are the best places in the country for spotting ospreys or red squirrels, or even marine mammals; some are known as the best places to explore preserved archaeological features, discovering hidden histories or simply enjoying spectacular scenery.

Divided into 14 regions, each beginning with a summary of the region’s woodland heritage, this guide features 365 sites, including details of ownership, designation, area, forest type, how to access it (including grid reference, post code and ‘what3words’ reference), alongside a description of the site’s key features. Featuring more than 200 stunning photographs of Scotland’s plants, animals and spectacular landscapes and expert region maps to help guide you to your nearest forest site, this is an essential book for adventurers, ramblers and wildlife enthusiasts. Wherever you may be in Scotland, with this guide you will never be far from a fascinating forest site!

Chris Osborne
Chris Osborne
Verified ownerVerified owner

I received the book and calendar, thank you a great deal for sending these to me! The book is genuinely brilliant, I’m delighted to celebrate honest. That must have been a huge amount of work by Gabriel? It’s so detailed and packed with great images. We’re already planning trips in the New Year based on it. Can you pass on my best wishes to your friend also, the book must have been a real labour of love I’d highly appreciate the effort put in. Thank you again.

5 months ago

The Forest Guide Scotland is the first of a three-book series which will eventually provide a unique and comprehensive guide to more than 1000 forest sites across Britain.

Summary Details

  • 365 forest sites across Scotland
  • 200 photographs
  • Maps for every region
  • Published 13 Apr 2023
  • Format Paperback
  • Extent 320pp
  • ISBN 9781472994646
  • Imprint Bloomsbury Wildlife
  • Dimensions 234 x 156 mm
  • Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing

Read more about The Forest Guide series

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.